Carcasonne - The Cathars (Die Katharer)

The Cathars are available in The Carcassonne Almanac issue of Spielbox (August 2005), available from http://www.carcassonne.de

 

To save you cutting up your magazine here are the rules.

History for Carcassonne players

During the 11th and 12th centuries a new religion developed in the South of France: Catharism. In the eyes of the Roman church this religion was heresy. By the beginning of the 13th century Carcassonne had become one of the Cathars' strongholds. After unsuccessful warnings and the killing of a church legate, Pope Innocent III called for arms and a crusade against the Cathars. With the besieging of the city of Carcassonne in 1209, a war started which would last for 40 years.

The Rules

"Carcassonne The Cathars" can be played in conjunction with the basic game and, optionally, with any combination of the extension sets.

 

The four new tiles are mixed with the rest of the land tiles. Unless modified in the following paragraphs, the usual rules apply.

Siege

A city which contains one or more Cathar tiles counts as besieged. The presence of the Cathar tile reduces the value of each tile and pennant by one point (unless it is zero already):

Score per tile or pennant

 

Without Cathars

With Cathars

Completed City with Cathedral

3

2

Completed City without Cathedral

2

1

Incomplete City without Cathedral

1

0

Incomplete City with Cathedral

0

0

Multiple besieging of a city has no further effect.

Supply

The farmers supply the besieging crusaders as well as the besieged city, so every besieged city scores twice, i.e. six points. If the farm has a pig (from the Traders & Builders Extension Set) then the score for the besieged city is eight points. To score double, a farm does not need to border on the Cathar tile, only on any part of the besieged city.

Escape

If a player wishes to abandon a besieged city, neighboring cloisters allow escape from the besieged city. The cloister must be adjacent to the Cathar tile, directly touching along a side or at a corner. The cloister does not need to be owned by the escaping player, or even occupied at all; it can be complete or incomplete. If such a cloister exists then the player can return one of his followers (knight or builder) from the besieged city into his supply at the end of each of his turns. If the player places the cloister tile then he can return one follower on the same turn.

 

Back to Carcassonne Home Page http://www.modernjive.com/carcassonne/carcassonne.htm

 

Download as PDF for printing

 

 

This document was produced by John Sweeney. Please send any comments to john@modernjive.com